Adventures in Vietnam

Traveling to my parents’ home country of Vietnam for the first time was a trip of a lifetime. My trip was a combination of meeting dozens of loving relatives I never knew I had and walking the busy and unbelievably crowded streets of Saigon. I finally got to meet my 94-year-old grandmother and seeing the smile on her face was unforgettable. From my experience, taking things for granted has taken on a new meaning as I witnessed the hardships people face on a regular basis. Children still walk the streets helping their parents to earn a living by selling things such as lottery tickets and paper fans. Despite their many hardships, the people of Vietnam are strong spirited, always finding ways to smile. Bringing my camera was one of the best decisions I made, as I hope to share the beautiful scenery and captures of everyday life in Vietnam. Hope you enjoy! 🙂

165 comments on “Adventures in Vietnam”

  1. A wonderful adventure. You have captured a great collection of photos, I love them all, I am eager to see more.

  2. I love your photos and your formatting. Kudos for having a very attractive site. I took some of my favorite photos ever in Vietnam

  3. Very fine shots…keep going!

  4. Excellent slideshow on Vietnam. Looks like you had a blast walking about. I look forward to looking at the rest your photostream.

    • Many thanks! 🙂 Yes it was quite nice being able to venture to many different places; but I won’t forget smelling like sweat the entire day in that hot humid weather!

  5. I am having trouble viewing your pictures, Jennifer. Is your having trouble, or am I? I certainly like what I can see.

  6. If someone dislikes these photos, he/she is surely the most stupid viewer 😀 Awesome pics !!

    And please check out my latest post on love – http://raajtram.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/love-sometimes-stupidity-d/

  7. I love the photos. It’s been almost three years since I left Vietnam, and there have been a lot of changes that amaze me. I miss Vietnam. I miss the family atmosphere that flows around at every corner. I am glad you had a great time there. My cousins didn’t enjoy their trip when they went there…

    • Many thanks! You are right, people at every corner. I am sorry to hear your cousins didn’t enjoy the trip. Do you mind me asking why?

      • I think they were so comfortable with all the conveniences that they found it a torture to experience the simple life style in Vietnam haha. It’s kinda sad.

  8. Reblogged this on Tee away from home and commented:
    I miss Vietnam. To me, it is not simply just a place where I was born and raised; it is the land of love and peace.

  9. Great Photos! Hopefully one day I will make it here! I have loads of places to check off of my bucket list!

  10. Sounds very cheesy but I honestly just said ‘wow’ when I clicked onto your page, the way you have organised the photos just looks stunning! Great photos too, you seem to have photographed things beautifully that most others would just walk past and not notice.

  11. I completely agree! The composition of each photo is phenomenal (so it clearly no fluke.) Love your use of color and angled lines.

  12. This is amazing. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  13. These photos are so beautiful and not just because their colours and vibrancy are wonderful. They capture little pieces of Vietnamese life – the children, the chicken, the dogs. I’ve never been to Vietnam but I certainly want to go there now. An exquisite compilation of pictures!

  14. This reminds me of my last visit in Vietnam. And of course of my grandmother, ba ngoai. Look forward to the next post.

  15. I absolutely loved Vietnam! Great pictures!

  16. This is where my mother was born here. I have heard so many wonderful things about vietnam and the land. I aspire one day to make a trip back to see the beauty of the land that i hear so much of.

    Your photos show the true life of a Viet’s.
    Vietnamese food is my absolute favorite! Did you like the food?

    • I hope you will be able to make that trip, it’s definitely a worthwhile experience!

      Many thanks! Yes, the food was delicious! (though my parents still say nothing beats homemade food haha)

  17. ohhh. this makes me miss vietnam! definitely a place to bring a camera. i’ve been there twice, once for just a couple of days, once for longer. so many amazing sights and delicious foods! thanks for sharing.

  18. Beautiful, Jennifer. Good eye! Thanks for sharing your work.
    Tony

  19. Beatiful photo’s, My husband and I are trying to plan a trip to Vietnam. Your photo’s are making me excited 🙂

  20. A beautiful country and you’ve done a wonderful job capturing it! Thank you so much for sharing these photos of yours! Have a fantastic weekend!

  21. Such beautiful photos! I am a WordPress photographer as well, so I absolutely love when I see posts like this! Great job.

  22. Beautiful photos. I especially like the two you got of the canoes (are they canoes?), especially the second one. The way the plants on the banks of the river curve overhead gives it a good aesthetic feel.

    It seems your layout isn’t working properly, though. I assume clicking on the individual photos is supposed to bring up a larger version? If so, some of them don’t link to anything, and those that do link to your previous post. Just a heads-up.

  23. I left a comment which didn’t appear so here we go again.

    I’ve wanted to go to Vietnam since seeing the coutryside on Top Gear! Thanks for sharing with us

  24. Great photographs of Vietnam! Beautiful!

  25. When I was in VietNam it was a lot different there was a war on and in betweenj lulls in combat I noticec how beautiful the country was (When it vwasn’t destroyed by bomb craters)…
    I suppose a lot has changed but being on SSD?SSI I really can’t afford to go and also being stuck in this damn wheelchair due to a left leg amputation (due in part to agent orange, yes (I now the United States fault for trying to defoliate the country), I put the blame where blame is due…

    If anyone would like to pay for a round trip ticket with all expenses – then I am game to go.

  26. Viet Nam is my favorite country!! So beautiful and such friendly, vibrant, resourceful people! Your photos are gorgeos.

  27. Great pictures! You really have captured its spirit. When I look at these pictures that you took, it reminds me so much of Vietnam, the unique Vietnam and the lives there. Beautiful pictures! Keep up the great work 🙂

  28. Its really very good collection and i enjoyed them.

  29. I am from Vietnam and I love all your photos that you took. I have to admit that I don’t usually notice all these wonderful small details in the photos, but after I saw this artwork I finally found the love within my heart for my country. It’s so beautiful! Thank you!

  30. I always wanted to go to Vietnam! Hopefully I go there soon!! 🙂

  31. Thanks for sharing. Indeed Saigon, in particular has very strong impressions painted. Was there last Christmas and truly enjoyed Saigon! Sharing my adventure too at my blog. The impressions were so strong that i have written a couple of posts!

    http://grightnow.wordpress.com/2011/12/31/the-silence-of-mekong-delta-d%e1%bb%93ng-b%e1%ba%b1ng-song-c%e1%bb%adu-long/

    Thanks for sharing!

  32. aww!!! Loved the ‘life’ in your pictures, so raw and pure. Keep it up!
    Regards

  33. A wonderful collection of beautiful photos, an indepth study of Vietnam. Thank you for sharing

  34. Great photos, thanks for sharing them. I especially love the one looking down at all the different colors and textures of food and also the cat against the motorbike wheel. Well done!

  35. I love the photos and the way it has been shot. really very nice and amazing photography.. I loved it a lot.

  36. Excellent Moments Captured. Well Done!

  37. Great photographs. Would have enjoyed even more if links were provided to the larger pictures of the same. Good work. Would love to visit Vietnam someday.

  38. wonderful photos.. sure looked like you had fun in capturing those photographs and i had fun too because they are very beautiful. congrats on being FP.

  39. These are all lovely photos! I’d really like to visit Vietnam one day and these photos just make me want to go even more 🙂

  40. Absolutely love the pics 🙂 Great stuff. Hoping to be in Vietnam soon (work related 😉 )

  41. These are so beautiful. I love all the color.. and the overall feel of the culture. It’s a work of art. Beautiful. -bethany

  42. these photos bought back so many memories for me !!!
    thank you so much for sharing !

  43. I love your pictures! If you don’t mind me asking, where in Vietnam did you go? 🙂

  44. Reblogged this on mysuccessisyoursuccess and commented:
    Beautiful picture,nice job .

  45. great adventure it was for you looking at the pictures you have here..
    http://www.trueloverelationship-advice.com

  46. Wonderful collage of photos!! . . . Sounds like an awesome homecoming!

    http://arabianmusings.wordpress.com/

  47. I t is a beautiful country and the people are lovely. I say this truthfully, despite the circumstances of my stay there in 1971.

  48. You really captured Saigon well. I lived there for a year and I feel like the people I met became my relatives. I hope to return to set up a charity there at some point in the future. Thanks for your photos. Rosie

  49. I ‘ve so wanted to visit Vietnam for a very long time and your beautiful photos were a reminder to get off my rump and try to make it happen!

  50. That looks like such an amazing place to see. Beautiful pictures!

  51. Love the pics. You should sell them on istock or something. It could probably make you a little money while youre ‘aspiring’.

  52. I would love to go back to Vietnam one day! Congrats on freshly pressed amazing photographs!

  53. Beautiful work – inspiring me to go to Vietnam!

  54. Thank you for sharing the richness of your experience through thought-provoking words and great images… 🙂

  55. What a stunning photo essay! Cheers,

  56. […] I viewed Jennifer Dao’s blog, located at https://jdaophotography.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/adventures-in-vietnam/. This is a blog by an amateur photographer, although judging by her work, if she’s an amateur […]

  57. love your photos. wish I could go there soon.

  58. I am in love with your pictures! Amazing! Had no idea how beautiful it is!

  59. Lovely
    yeah you are right
    I live in the Philippines and I still see children helping their family earn a living
    Same like Vietnam
    Its sad
    And makes you more humble
    Will follow
    Love your Blog

  60. Inspiring and beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  61. I’m Vietnamese, it’s great to see how wonderful our hometown is !!!

  62. Beautiful images and loved reading ther post – really makes me want to go to Vietnam! I’ve added your blog to my blogroll: http://travellingmole.com, would love it if you could return the favour 🙂

  63. Stunning photos! You did great. 🙂

  64. Great sets of photos! Vietnam is definitely a place I wanna visit soon.

  65. amazing i never thought vietnam was soo beautiful !

    check out my blog angeleryka.wordpress.com

    🙂

  66. Such an amazing country – we were torn between Vietnam and Peru – Vietnam is a definate second trip!

  67. I love asia’s spirit hiding life in every corner and you did a god job in keeping those moments for eternity!! =)

  68. I’m more convinced now to visit Vietnam soon…:)

  69. Wonderful photography!

  70. Wow! These pictures are stunning! My grandparents are from China and I’ve never been! Maybe one day I’ll make a trip similar to yours 🙂

  71. Really stunning photos. I hope to visit one day. Last year when I was in passing through Singapore I met a lovely Vietnamese lady who shared this recipe with me http://chilliandmint.com/2011/10/17/trangs-vietnamese-spring-rolls-with-nuoc-cham-dipping-sauce/. I thought you might like to have a peek. If you have any you would recommend I would love to try them out so do get in touch. Torie

  72. Excellent photos! Thanks for sharing!

  73. Ah, I love the sixth one! A gorgeous outlook on bits of everything- thank you for this post!

  74. Such a stunning country. My wife and i were there last year and it blew our minds. I now want to go back and spend several weeks cycling from the north to the south – nice and slow, taking it all in!

  75. […] a que mi atención se vaya a reportajes al respecto…pero hoy el wordpress me presentó estas otras imágenes al nomás entrar. Talvez el universo quiere que le preste más atención a la caída de Saigón, cuyo aniversario […]

  76. Such beautiful photos!! A friend of mine and his wife will be heading back to Vietnam where she grew up. It is amazing how different our cultures are and I always enjoy his work as well; showing through his photographs what life is like in a country that is on the opposite side of the world. Your work reminds me very much of the images he has showed.

    Looking forward to following your posts and seeing your work!

  77. gorgeous photos! I travel to Vietnam every couple of years and each time is refreshing as the first. These pictures put me right at home. Keep it up!

  78. Very beautiful photos, the cruise~wow!
    Thanks for sharing your journey
    Kathy

  79. I love love love those birds in cages. Wonderful images.

  80. Fantastic! I love the children.

  81. Fantastic photos, really makes me want to travel! X

  82. […] Adventures in Vietnam « Jdao Photography by Jennifer Dao. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Published: February 27, 2012 Filed Under: Uncategorized […]

  83. I’ve made a plan to visit Vietnam next November. Can’t wait!

  84. Very beautiful story Jennifer! The pictures are very aesthetic and I love how you mention the heart and will of the Vietnamese people. I myself am a Samoan American and I long for days where I can go to the islands of Samoa to meet the many family members I have over there. My parents were born on the islands and were raised there for some time before coming to America. I too want to get to know my people and capture their lives on camera. This blog was a good read and I hope that someday I can accomplish something like this. Thank you for sharing!

  85. beautiful natural scenery, peaceful, quiet, sweet

  86. Oh my God. An emotion every time i see that country. I love it. It gave me a woman and a daughter. And it’s an emotion see the nice people. Now Ho Chi Minh is people in everyday difficult but also Bitexco tower and ILA school. I hope they rise in the rigth way. thanks for emotion.
    Paolo Italy

  87. What a terrific story and the images really compliment the story telling. Thanks for sharing

  88. Waooow! Sweet scenery, awesome slideshow! 😀

    http://www.thebambooshoots.com

  89. FANTASTIC photos! i absolutely love this kind of photography. i enjoy capturing live as it is in the little moments we tend to overlook. keep shooting & sharing!

  90. You’re lucky !
    I love this country’s culture !!

    Your photographs are so amazing and makes me want to go in Vietnam.

  91. nice shots! i’m planning to visit Vietnam anytime soon 😉

  92. Although Vietnam is a developing country, it’s beautiful and traditional.
    I’m proud of my country.

    Thanks for the shots!

  93. Nice pictures and interesting story!!
    …wow! You’re lucky having the opportunity to go in Vietnam! I would like to visit it, too!!

  94. Absolutely lovely! My son was born in Vietnam and it is one of my most favorite places on earth.

  95. […] out this post  by Jennifer Dao that beautifully captures life in Vietnam.  Lovely! Share […]

  96. Very nice photos. Thanks for sparking the memories of the nice time I spent in Vietnam a few years ago. After seeing your pictures, I want to return again.

  97. Reblogged this on .

  98. Very Nice. I am looking forward to traveling, and exploring that part of the world one day. Your Pictures Definitely helped.

  99. Some gorgeous photos there. Well done.

  100. very nice blog with beautiful pictures pls also visit my blog http://yourshoppingworld.wordpress.com

  101. I love how this photo showed the culture in Vietnam and I see that you had a great time ❤

  102. Great experience! Thanks for sharing.

  103. Great! Now, thanks to you, I don’t have to go to Vietnam! Haha. Lovely photos!

  104. You pics are very great. they are very inspiring. By the way, I’m vietnamese.

  105. I absolutely loved living in Saigon for a year. It was a very rewarding and memorable experience. Vietnam definitely holds a special place in my heart.

    Thank you for sharing your photos. Brings back such great memories.


Leave a Reply

