New Camera :) New Journey

By: Jdao

Jun 28 2010

Tags: ,

Category: Nature Photography, Photographers, Photos

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:55mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:PENTAX K-x

I am very excited to progress in photography this summer. Last summer really gave me the opportunity to explore photography with simple point and shoot cameras that had been in the house for years, occasionally used for vacation and school concerts. I explored composition, taking pictures of everything that looked appealing to me from flowers in the back yard to my dog to origami ( as of now I really want to progress to taking pictures that hold deeper meaning–including conceptual, minimalism, and portrait photography). I also joined online photography and art communities that were very welcoming on deviantart and flickr; I learned a lot from critiques as well as gained a bit of confidence as a learning photographer. This year, thanks to my dad, I have been fortunate enough to upgrade to a white Pentax k-x dslr. Although I will always stress that the eye of the photographer is most important regardless of what kind of camera is being used, simple point and shoot digital cameras can only do so much. There is not a lot of control and creativity because of its simplicity. With that being said, I still use my Nikon Coolpix S220, Sony Cybershot, and cell phone camera. But I take photography more seriously with my dslr, and can’t wait to learn the ins and outs of photography. So from this post, I am uploading some of my first shots with my dslr.


Leave a Reply

